top of page
  • BCB press release/ Dexter Hastings

Black Country Boxing take home 4 Awards

Black Country Boxing take home 4 Awards

BCB Promotions picked up four of the five main awards on offer at the annual British Boxing Board of Control Midlands Area Awards Dinner on Saturday.

British Middleweight Champion, Jason Welborn, was awarded the ‘Best Boxer’ Award for an exceptional 2018 which saw him win, and then retain, his Lord Lonsdale belt against Tommy Langford in two epic tussles.

English Bantamweight Champion, Kyle Williams, walked away with the ‘Best Young Boxer’ accolade after winning the Midlands Area and English Title this calendar year.

Zach Parker was given the ‘Performance of the Year’ Award for his stunning first round KO win over Luke Blackledge last summer whilst Rachel Ball claimed the ‘Fight of the Year’ award for her bloody battle with Eftychia Kathopouli. It was the first time a female boxer had been nominated, let alone won, an award.

Other winners on an entertaining evening at the Eton Hotel, Birmingham, were Shaka Thompson who picked up the ‘Best Newcomer’ Award, Nigel Rafferty who collected the ‘Boxer from the Boxer’, and referee John Keane who collected the ‘Services to Boxing’ Award.

Images by- Mark J Jones Photography.

Dexter's Thoughts

Congratulations to Black Country Boxing promotions winning four awards at the Midlands award show. Jason Welborn is a well deserved winner of best boxer after beating Tommy Langford twice in two of the greatest fights I have had the privilege to have seen.

Great shout for best young boxer in Kyle Williams after winning the Midlands and the English title this year which again I was there to witness.

It was great to see Rachel Ball winning Best fight for here bloody battle at Bescot stadium, this was a fantastic fight and was a great display of female boxing.

There could be even more awards for the BcB boxers and the other Boxers from the Midlands when the Birmingham Boxing Column its winners for Boxer of the year, Fight of the year and boxers to watch in the year ahead. announces

The Column will announce the winner in December.

bottom of page